International Pfeffer Peace Prize at Fellowship of Reconciliation

Sourced from

The Fellowship of Reconciliation which “seeks to replace violence, war, racism, and economic injustice with nonviolence, peace, and justice” has announced the Call for Nominations for 2010 King and Pfeffer Peace Prizes given out each year “to individuals or organizations whose commitment to peace, justice, and reconciliation is recognized as extraordinary. The awardees receive a cash prize and a commemorative scroll.”

“The International Pfeffer Peace Prize was established in 1989 by Leo and Freda Pfeffer to particularly honor those around the world working for peace and justice. Leo Pfeffer was the United States’ leading theoretician on religious liberty and the separation of Church and State, and he argued these constitutional issues before the Supreme Court. A long-time FOR member, Leo was a founding member of the Jewish Peace Fellowship. He died in 1993, but his legacy continues to contribute to a more peaceful society.”

The other Martin Luther King Jr. Award is for persons or groups working in the United States in the tradition of Martin Luther King.

To submit the nominations, indicate the award recommended along with a 150-300 word statement detailing the nominee’s work for peace and justice including his/her contact information besides nominator details. Nominations can be submitted by mail or email. The last date to receive the nominations is 30 April 2010. For more information, visit this link.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s